RSPA has awarded nearly $3 million to families of RSPA members companies, and that tradition continues. Employees of all RSPA members (and their families) can apply for scholarships to help ease the costs associated with higher education. Several different scholarships, with different award amounts are available. Scholarship applications are reviewed by an independent, third-party evaluator to determine awards for individual applicants. 

All applicants must meet the minimum requirements outlined below. Specific scholarships may have additional requirements. Minimum eligibility requirements:

  • A child or grandchild of an RSPA member employee (FT, at least 21 hrs/wk with 3 years tenure) or business owner
    • The member company must be in good standing in the RSPA for the past three consecutive years.
  • Be at least 16 years old on the day the application for the current year is due
  • Have graduated from high school or its equivalent before July 1 of the year in which they will use the scholarship
  • Have sufficient achievement to be accepted by an accredited post-secondary school

Scholarship recipients of one year may reapply for additional scholarships in succeeding years, up to a total of four awards. Applications do not have to be made in consecutive years; however, the student must reapply each year they wish to be considered.

Annual Awards


Ann Maynard “Butterfly Effect” Memorial Scholarship
Award Amount: Two awards of $3,000 each

The Ann Maynard “Butterfly Effect” Memorial Scholarship was established in 2024 to pay tribute to Ann Maynard, one of the driving forces behind raising funds for the RSPA Scholarship Program and the first woman inducted into the RSPA Retail Technology Industry Hall of Fame. To learn more about Ann’s legacy of kindness and generosity, view this Memory Book created by the RSPA Community.


Dave & Norma McCarthy Family Scholarship
Award Amount: $10,000

The Dave & Norma McCarthy Family Scholarship was established in 2023 to help the families of retail technology reseller organizations. The McCarthys have been longtime supporters of the association (both the ICRDA and RSPA) through their family company DUMAC Business Systems. The Dave & Norma McCarthy Family Scholarship is available to the child or grandchild of the owner or employee of an RSPA member company that operates as a full-service POS solution provider.


Stanley and Shirley Hayman Founder’s Scholarship
Award Amount: $3,500

The first established scholarship in association history honors Stanley and Shirley Hayman, longtime members, co-founders of the ICRDA (Independent Cash Register Dealers Association), and co-founders of the scholarship program. The Hayman Scholarship is available to all RSPA members.


Datacap Systems Scholarship
Award Amount: $2,500

The Datacap Systems Scholarship was established in 2022 by the Zeigler Family Foundation to help resellers sustain their business and transition to the next generation. Recipients of this scholarship must meet the following qualifications: the applicant is pursuing a degree in Business Administration or Technology that is applicable to the needs of a retail systems reseller.


John B. Lockington Memorial Scholarship
Award Amount: $2,500

Established in 2023 by longtime reseller member BMC, this scholarship recognizes the contributions of John B. Lockington who played a pivotal role in merging the SDA (Systems Dealers Association) and ICRDA to form the current RSPA. Recipients of this scholarship must meet the following qualifications: the applicant is associated with an RSPA member company that operates primarily as a full-service point of sale solution provider, providing sales, installation, and maintenance services directly to end users. Applicant is pursuing an educational curriculum intended to support a career with an RSPA member company.


Danny Vaughan Memorial Scholarship
Award Amount: $2,500

The Danny Vaughan Memorial Scholarship was established in 2023 to recognize the contributions of the late Danny Vaughan, a long-time ICRDA and RSPA member. Danny was affiliated with Triangle POS in Dallas and dedicated 40+ years of service to the cash register and point of sale industry. This award is available to all RSPA members through 2027.


RSPA Anniversary Scholarship
Award Amount: $2,500

The RSPA Anniversary Scholarship is funded by donations made in 2023 when the association celebrated 75 years serving the channel. This award is available to all RSPA members and will be refreshed through a new fundraiser in 2028 when the RSPA celebrates its 80th anniversary.


Retail Solutions Providers Association General Scholarship
Award Amount: Starting at $1,500

This award is available to all RSPA members.

Click here to make a donation.

Meet RSPA Scholarship Recipients
Take a moment to learn more about two of the many incredible students the RSPA Scholarship Program has benefitted via their application essays:

Jordan Jacobs

Bailey Allen

Josie Howell